Images de page
PDF
ePub

A

REGISTER

OF THE

PRESIDENTS, FELLOWS, DEMIES,

INSTRUCTORS IN GRAMMAR AND IN MUSIC,

CHAPLAINS, CLERKS, CHORISTERS,

AND OTHER MEMBERS

OF

SAINT MARY MAGDALEN COLLEGE

IN THE

UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD,

FROM THE FOUNDATION OF THE COLLEGE TO THE PRESENT TIME.

BY

JOHN ROUSE BLOXAM, D.D.

FELLOW AND LIBRARIAN.

VOL. II.

THE CHAPLAINS, CLERKS, AND ORGANISTS.

OXFORD,

J. H. PARKER, BROAD STREET: H. HAMMANS, HIGH STREET.

MDCCCLVII.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

ΤΟ

Benjamin Blyth, Organist,

AND THE

CHAPLAINS AND SINGING-CLERKS OF ST. MARY MAGDALEN

COLLEGE, Oxford,

THIS PORTION OF THE COLLEGE REGISTER

IS RESPECTFULLY DEDICATED

BY THEIR HUMBLE SERVANT

J. R. B.

FORMERLY BIBLE-CLERK OF WORCESTER COLLEGE,

NOW COMMEMORATION-CHAPLAIN &c. OF S. M. MAGDALEN COLlege.

PREFACE.

The Quire consists of twenty-nine; wherein
There are four Chaplains, who by turns do say
The Clergy-prayers, and more eight Clerks there been,
And sixteen Choristers, o'er whom bears sway
One, who doth teach them how to sing with ease,
Whose nimble fingers on the organs play
Gravely-composed Church-music: and all these

With different notes, which sweetly do accord,
Sing Allelujah to the living Lord.

Heylin's Memorial of Waynflete, p. 42.

THE President and Scholars of St. Mary Magdalen Hall, founded by William Waynflete A.D. 1448, on a spot in the High Street to the east of University College, were accustomed to celebrate Divine Service in their Parish-Church of St. Peter. On their translation to the site of the present College in 1458, they made use of the Oratory of the ancient Hospital of St. John for their place of worship, till a larger and more magnificent Chapel was erected on a spot of ground a little to the north of the former".

edifice was

"The foundation-stone of the new consecrated on the fifth of May, A.D. 1474, by the Venerable Father, Robert Toly, Bishop of St. David's,

a Chandler's Life of William Waynflete, p. 142.

b See Appendix, p. 227.

Robert Toly or Tulley, Bishop of St. David's A.D. 1460. He died in 1481, and was buried at Tenby in Pembrokeshire. (Hardy's Le Neve, vol. i. p. 298.) He had been originally a Monk of Gloucester Abbey, and has the reputation of having completed the tower of the Cathedral, and

b

« PrécédentContinuer »