The Whirlwind of War: Voices of the Storm, 1861-1865

Harper Collins, 1999 - 864 pages
The epic saga of the Civil War told from the viewpoints of eleven principle players in the drama: Abraham Lincoln, R.E. Lee, Mary Livermore, Jefferson Davis, William Tecumseh Sherman, Mary Boykin Chesnut, Ulysses S. Grant, Frederick Douglass, Cornelia Hancock, John Wilkes Booth, and Walt Whitman.

Table des matières

The Winds of SixtyTwo
The Winds of SixtyThree
The Winds of SixtyFour
The Winds of SixtyFive
Droits d'auteur

Autres éditions - Tout afficher

Expressions et termes fréquents

À propos de l'auteur (1999)

Stephen B. Oates was a Civil War historian and biographer. He was born in Pampa, Texas on January 6, 1936. He attended the University of Texas at Austin, receiving a bachelor's degree (1958), earned a Master of Arts degree (1960), and was awarded a Doctor of Philosophy (1969). From 1968 to 1997, he taught history and biography at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He wrote over 17 books which included, To Purge This Land with Blood: A Biography of John Brown (1970); The Fires of Jubilee: Nat Turner's Fierce Rebellion (1975); With Malice Toward None: A Life of Abraham Lincoln (1977); Let the Trumpet Sound: The Life of Martin Luther King, Jr. (1982); and A Woman of Valor: Clara Barton and the Civil War (1994). Dr. Oates was an adviser for the Ken Burn's Civil War series (1990). Stephen B. Oates died from pancreatic cancer on August 20, 2021 at his home in Amherst, Massachusetts. He was 85.

Informations bibliographiques